Spiritual Sketches

Lechateau Earl Records

1. “There Is a Balm in Gilead”
2. “Everytime I Feel the Spirit”
3. “Deep River”
4. “Sinner Please Don’t Let This Harvest Pass”
5. “Come By Here Good Lord”
6. “Here’s One”
7. “Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child”
8. “Soon I Will Be Done”
9. “All Night, All Day”
10. “Down By the Riverside”

piritual Sketches features ten traditional spirituals arranged by Brownlee’s friend and collaborator Damien Sneed. The disc is at once a re-imagining of and a love letter to a traditional art form. Of the project, Sneed writes, “Our aim and goal was to pull from the incredible historical legacy created by composers such as Harry T. Burleigh, Hall Johnson, Margaret Bonds and even Moses Hogan while including elements of American jazz music and gospel music from the African-American church experience. My hope is that these arrangements expand the listening audience of this art form while simultaneously bringing attention to its rich heritage.”


Lawrence Brownlee

Damien Sneed